Confirmed Plenary Speakers at emc2020

  • Moritz Helmstaedter (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, DE)

    Moritz Helmstaedter is the Managing Director of the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt, Germany, where he heads the Department of Connectomics.

    He is focused on pushing the frontiers of connectomics, a research field aiming at mapping communication maps of nerve cells at high throughput. His ambition is to unravel the brain’s computational algorithms, measure the imprints of experience in neuronal circuits, and search for connectome alterations in models of psychiatric disease.

    Born 1978 in Berlin, Germany, Moritz obtained his Medical license and physics diploma from Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg, Germany. Doctoral thesis with Bert Sakmann and Post-Doc with Winfried Denk at the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg. 2011-2014 Research Group leader and Principal Investigator at the Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Munich. Since August 2014 Scientific Member of the Max-Planck-Society and Director at the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research.

  • Carolynn Larabell (University of California, San Francisco, US)

    Carolyn Larabell is Professor and Vice-Chair in the Department of Anatomy at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine, with a joint appointment as Advanced Light Source Professor at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. She is also the Founding Director of the National Center for X-ray Tomography (NCXT), a NIGMS-NIH Biomedical Technology Research Resource, to develop soft x-ray microscopy for imaging biological cells. Dr. Larabell received her Ph.D. from Arizona State University and did postdoctoral training at Stanford University and the University of California at Davis.

  • John Rodenburg (University of Sheffield, UK)

    John Rodenburg obtained his PhD from the University of Cambridge, and later held a Royal Society Research Fellowship there, during which he worked on direct inversion methods to solve the phase problem in ptychography. He moved to Sheffield in 1999, first to Sheffield Hallam University as Professor of Materials Analysis, and then to the University of Sheffield where he developed iterative methods for solving the ptychographic phase problem. His group has since developed many refinements to electron, X-ray and visible light ptychography.

  • Claus Ropers (University of Göttingen, DE)

    Claus Ropers studied physics in Göttingen and Berkeley. Conducting his doctoral studies at the Max Born Institute (Berlin), he received a PhD from the Humboldt University in Berlin in 2007. At the University of Göttingen, he was appointed Assistant Professor at the Courant Research Centre “Nano-Spectroscopy and X-Ray Imaging” (2008), Associate Professor at the Institute of Materials Physics (2011), and Full Professor for Experimental Solid State Physics at the 4th Physical Institute (2013). His research focuses on the study of ultrafast structural and electronic dynamics in solids, nanostructures and at surfaces. To this end, his group develops and applies ultrafast electron microscopy and diffraction using coherent femtosecond electron pulses. His recognitions include the Walter-Schottky Prize, an ERC Starting Grant, the Gottfried Wilhelm-Leibniz Award and the Ernst-Ruska Prize.

  • Frances Ross (MIT, US)

    Frances M. Ross received her B.A. in Physics and Ph.D. in Materials Science from Cambridge University. Her postdoc was at A.T.&T. Bell Laboratories, using in situ electron microscopy to study silicon oxidation and dislocation dynamics, after which she joined the National Center for Electron Microscopy, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where she imaged anodic etching of Si. She then moved to the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center where she imaged growth processes using a microscope with deposition and focused ion beam capabilities and developed liquid cell microscopy for electrochemical experiments. She joined the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at MIT in 2018. Her interests include nanostructure self-assembly, liquid cell microscopy, epitaxy and electrochemical processes. She has been a Visiting Scientist at Lund University and an Adjunct Professor at Arizona State University.

    She received the UK Institute of Physics Boys Medal, the MSA Burton Medal and MRS Outstanding Young Investigator and Innovation in Materials Characterization Awards, holds an Honorary Doctorate from Lund, and is a Fellow of APS, AAAS, MRS, MSA, RMS and AVS.

  • Roland Wiesendanger (University of Hamburg, DE)

    Roland Wiesendanger studied physics at the University of Basel, Switzerland, where he received his Ph.D. in 1987 and his Habilitation degree in 1990, working in the field of scanning tunnelling microscopy and related techniques. In 1992 he received an offer for a full professor position from the University of Hamburg related with the launch of the Microstructure Advanced Research Center Hamburg.

    In Hamburg, Roland Wiesendanger has initiated the Center of Competence in Nano-scale Analysis, the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center Hamburg, the Collaborative Research Center of the German Research Foundation entitled “Magnetism from single atoms to nanostructures”, and the Cluster of Excellence “Nanospintronics” of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg.

    Since end of the eighties, Roland Wiesendanger pioneered the technique of Spin-Polarized Scanning Tunnelling Microscopy (SP-STM) and Spectroscopy which allowed the first real-space observation of magnetic structures at the atomic level. Roland Wiesendanger also contributed significantly to the development of Magnetic Force Microscopy (MFM) and Magnetic Exchange Force Microscopy (MExFM).

    Roland Wiesendanger is author or co-author of about 600 scientific publications and 2 textbooks, and editor or co-editor of 8 monographs and 7 conference proceedings. He already presented more than 500 invited talks worldwide. For his outstanding research contributions, Roland Wiesendanger has received numerous scientific awards and honours, including three Advanced Grants of the European Research Council in 2008, 2013 and 2018, the Gaede-Prize of the German Vacuum Society in 1992, the Max Auwärter Prize in 1992, the Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize in 1999, the Philip Morris Research Prize in 2003, the Nanotechnology Recognition Award of the American Vacuum Society in 2010, the first Heinrich Rohrer Grand Medal and Prize in 2014, the Hamburg Science Prize of the Hamburg Academy of Sciences in 2015, and the Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics in 2016. He is an elected member of the German Academy of Sciences “Leopoldina”, the Hamburg Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Technical Sciences “acatech”, the Polish Academy of Sciences, and the European Academy of Sciences “EURASC”. Since 2012, he is Honorary Professor of the Harbin Institute of Technology, China, and Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. In 2015 he was honoured by the title Doctor Honoris Causa of Poznan University of Technology, Poland and by becoming International Fellow of the Surface Science Society of Japan (SSSJ).


Share this